Do you need to obtain a copy of divorce records in New York? Whatever your intention is as long as it is legal, you can do so when you follow the proper procedure. Divorce registers in New York State come in two types: divorce decrees and divorce certificates. The process, although the requirements and payment are quite the same, still differ depending on which type of divorce record is sussed out.
As of the year 2012, the New York State Department of Health was able to record a total of 58,556 divorces in the state. Legal grounds include cruelty, abandonment, imprisonment, adultery including reasons that aren’t stated with abandonment ranking first and cruelty second. Marriages that are within 5-9 years of duration account for the highest percentage in the total divorce number in New York State in that same year.
Although most records generated by government repositories are deemed public, divorce records specifically divorce decrees are restricted only to the persons indicated in the document and to those who have been issued with a court order allowing them to request for such file. Divorce certificates, the other type of divorce record, are accessible through the Department of Public Health in New York State. They are not restricted as they contain only the basic information about the divorce. Nonetheless, the only certificates of divorce that can be accessed or requested at the state level are those that transpired and recorded on or after January 1, 1963.
Divorce registers, along with other vital documents, are very beneficial in so many ways thus the state has appointed agencies to identify, classify, track and archives them for the public’s reference. As long as applicable laws are adhered to in the procurement process, anyone can file a request for any divorce records in the State of New York including those of divorce registers. Certain fees apply and such fees, however, depend on which type of divorce record is perused and the type of handling chosen. Each copy of a divorce record in New York State, whether you obtain it locally through the court, County Clerk’s Office, or through the State Office, is $30. For priority handling, however, an additional $15 is requisite so you will be paying a total of $45.
Fees for divorce record requests in New York State depend should you wish to expedite the transaction or not. For priority handling, the total fee would be $45. Each copy of a divorce record costs $30 should regular handling is opted. It is important to take note as well that the application must have the identification requirements enclosed which include one valid photo-ID and documents stating the applicant’s name and address such as a utility or telephone bill, or a letter from a government agency dated within the last 6 months.
Are divorce records public? This is one of the most frequently asked questions when it comes to the application for such noteworthy documents. Divorce records, along with other vital registers, are considered public as per the Public Records Law. However, divorce decrees which are more specific and comprehensive are restricted only to either spouse or other people with a New York State Court Order. For every certificate of divorce in New York, $30 is required as the search fee. An additional fee of $15 is required should priority handling is opted, thus a total of $45. Because of the long waiting time, most requesters today prefer the online method. Truly, alternative repositories can provide you with any document you need in a much faster turnaround thereby saving you the hassle of applying for the record manually and waiting for it to be mailed back for weeks.
Simple step by step guide to Divorce Decrees Public Record Search in the convenience of your own home.